Feeding the Monster

A month ago I had the pleasure of attending a full day Pâtisserie course at Le Cordon Bleu New Zealand, and I tell you what, it was worth every cent!  I felt like a little girl walking into a toy shop, this is my version of it, anyway.  Chills as I walked in, massive grin on my face, I couldn’t help but giggle to myself, i must have looked a right twat, but I just couldn’t help it, I was so excited.  It was somewhere I had always wanted to be, and that morning … there I was.

The topic of the day for the Blue Ribbon Masterclass, was “Mastering Macarons”, something that I have tried a number if times and haven’t had much success at.  I was hoping with a little luck, that was all about to change.

IMG_0089

I learnt so much, from how the molecular makeup of the meringue plays such a large part in the final product, to how one extra turn or your spatular at the end of the mixing process can be the difference between perfect, and NOT perfect Macarons.

IMG_0098

We learnt the two different techniques, French and Italian, both have there pros and cons.  We made three different fillings for sandwiching them together at the end.

IMG_0089

So many aspects came into play, things that you wouldn’t know unless you were being taught by a French Patisserie Chef, it was just incredible.  I loved every moment.

IMG_0114

Le Cordon Bleu.  What a place!  That facilities are amazing – the staff are excellent!  Somewhere I have always wanted to go and study, and somewhere I will most defiantly be visiting again.  If I didn’t have a real job, if I didn’t have to work to pay the mortgage, if the course didn’t cost $35k to do, I’d chuck it all in in a heart beat, and do the full on 9 month Diplôme de Pâtisserie.  However I live with my feet firmly planted on the ground.  I’m not sure what I would even do with it afterwards.  There aren’t a huge amount of jobs for fancy Pastry Chefs in Wellington, and to be honest I don’t know if I’m at the right end of my life to be working the crazy hours of a Pastry Chef.

 

IMG_0115

So, for the moment, I’ll get my shits and giggles by attending as many of the Blue Ribbon Classes as I can, (or as my wonderfully supportive husband will allow), stashing away the knowledge, practicing practicing practcticing ……. and as my wise friend Matt said ….. “Feeding the Monster”.

IMG_0124

Thanks for reading!

Lee Lewis

 

