Turbulent times

It’s been a rough few weeks, as one friend has said, an emotional roller coaster, and I haven’t been coping too well.  Hence the radio silence on this end.  Apologies.  The inevitable happened, we lost my dear Nan last week.  A wonderful Mum, Nan, Nan-Nan, Great Nan, Aunty and quite frankly one of the most wonderful people I’ll ever know.  I know she is resting peacefully now, she led a full and long life, but I’ll miss her so much.

Nan

I have been struggling to come to terms with it.  So much so that for the first time in my life, I haven’t wanted to be in my kitchen, the memories it stirred up were far too painful and I wanted to be in denial for a little while longer, until I could function better.

Tonight however I needed to get in the kitchen and make Mum’s birthday cake for tomorrow.   It forced me in there, and to tell you the truth I think it was exactly what I needed.  A little baking therapy, if you will.

White Chocolate cake.  The first time I have made it.  If the batter is anything to go by, it’s going to be tasty.   Of course I had to lick the spoon to sample it, and this time since the kids were watching a Christmas Movie, I didn’t have to share! It’s in the oven as I type.  All going well there’ll be a post over the next week or so.

I HAVE been wanting to make a post about for a few weeks, but haven’t been able to in fear of it being too sad.  Strawberry Shortcake (in a jar). I made it a couple of weeks back.  It was delightful.  Fuelling my growing passion for everything in jars, these cute little desserts were ever so tasty and went down a treat.

Strawberry Shortcake in a jarI didn’t use shortbread, as such, but made a dense sweet pound cake, and layered that with some slightly cooked and tiddly strawberries and cream.  The syrup from the berries soaked the cake perfectly.  You see, the fun with anything in a jar, is taking something, and changing it ever so slightly, to allow it to be served in a jar.  Lets be frank here, seriously, who can resist dessert served in a jar?

There's nothing wrong with dressing it up a little

There’s nothing wrong with dressing it up a little

I have a HUGE week of baking ahead of me, so I had better get over myself and get cracking.  I suspect that this week I’ll be wishing for a few extra days in the week.

Thanks for reading!

Lee Lewis

