Making something genius from an epic fail!

I have been busy making cakes again.  This time I had to make one to demonstrate icing a cake for a fundraiser for Playcentre on Friday night.  It was a great chance to catch up with all the girls again.  We had a ball and I’m hoping the girls may have learnt something along the way.  As you can see from the photo, we had some very creative hands in the group, beautiful work ladies!

Cakes made by the ladies at my cake workshop

My cake however, not so flash.  I thought I was being super organised on Thursday night, I had the cake all mixed up and in the oven before I put the kids to bed, bit of a change for me.  A few times over the last few months I have baked at midnight, not a good plan.  So I went to heat Lucy’s milk up in the microwave, only to find the butter that was supposed to be in the cake, still sitting in the microwave.  FAIL!!!  Once the cake was cooked I thought I’d have a little taste.  It tasted ok, still quite nice, but nowhere as rice as it normally is.  I opted to make another cake, and saved this one to make dessert for the weekend.  I remembered the butter in my chocolate cake Mark II.  I knew a friend was having a birthday at work on Monday, so that was the target recipient for my demo cake, so I wanted it to taste good.  In the end, it turned out great, just the way a good chocolate cake should be.

It’s amazing how you can make something unexpected from such an epic fail, I know I have said this before, but I thought I’d prove my theory again.  I have also said that I don’t like to throw anything out, and this was no exception.  I wanted to use the “failed cake” to make dessert for neighbors on Saturday night.  I love how mucking around and experimenting with flavors that you know marry well, can produce such a lovely result.  What a beauty it turned out to be.  I’m not sure what we are going to call it, it’s acombination between summer pudding, tiramisu and trifle, but I tell you what, it tasted great.  Not too rich, not too sweet, just the right amount of tang, and wonderfully balanced.  Yum!

Tiramisu/Summer Pudding/Trifle – whatever it is, it’s great!

Lee’s Summer Berry Triflemisu

Ingredients

  • Chocolate cake
  • Kahlua
  • Berry Syrup (berries boiled with caster sugar and a touch of water)
  • Cream
  • Greek Yoghurt
  • Fresh Berries
  • Chocolate Drops

Method

  1. Whip a small bottle of cream and mix with approx 1 c greek yoghurt
  2. Cut your cake into 1cm layers.  Place the first layer one the bottom of a serving bowl and dowse with enough Kahlua to make it slightly damp
  3. Add a layer of cream mixture.  Then layer with more cake, then a layer of berry syrup, then cream , the cake and Kahlua and so on.  Finish with cream and then fresh berries and chocolate drops.
  4. Go crazy, and then enjoy.

 

Thanks for reading!

