Cake and Bread coming out my ears!

This week has been a bit crazy.  I thought being the first week of the school holidays that I was going to have time to chill out a bit and catch up on heaps of things around the house that have needed a bit of attention, but it seems to be even busier than normal.

Last night it was our team’s turn to organise “supper” (essentially a meal at 9:30pm) at the squash club, for around 50 people.  Of course I put my hand up to do this.  I made about 7 loaves of bread (by hand) to take along, and they tasted pretty good, I think I’m getting the hang of making bread by hand,I prepared easy food (pasta and salad), but that and the combination of everything else that I have had to do this week has left me feeling a little exhausted.

I am currently doing a kids birthday cake for a friend of a friend (they want a race track), they are picking that up tomorrow morning, so I’m sure that will keep me busy for the rest of the day.  We also have friends coming for dinner for the next three nights, so I’m going to have to get inspired after the cake is finished, and get cracking on what I’m going to make.  Luckily I asked for requests, makes it a lot easier when you have an idea in the direction you’re going.

What I really wanted to yack about today was a birthday cake I whipped up for a friend the other day.  Thought I’d have a play with buttercream for a change, something that I haven’t really done in about 8 years.  So of course I had a look on YouTube to find a tutorial on making Buttercream Roses.

Actually they were quite easy, once I got used to using the piping bag, I had to work fast though as it was a warm day and the icing softens rather fast.  Pretty happy with my first attempt.  I borrowed a recipe for another Vanialla cake, coloured different layers, filled it with vanilla buttercream and viola!

 

Cream Brulee has been requested for tomorrow night, wish me luck!  It’s something that I’ve wanted to make for a while, so we’ll see how we go.

Thanks for reading!  Hopefully this time tomorrow I’ll feel less like running around like a chicken with its head chopped off, and more chilled out.

