Desserts CAN be healthy, AND taste good at the same time

I’m sorry for the radio silence, over the weekend, I kept telling myself that I should really make the time to sit down and write a post, however the weekend seemed to just disappear, and I REALLY have no idea where it went!  I can tell you what though, I truly feel like I need another one.  This is just a short post to wet the appetite, I’ll be back on form for the rest of the week, I’m sure.

Summer is coming, it is right?

Summer is fast approaching, or that’s what I keep telling myself, I’m hoping it’s not just wishful thinking on my part.  It’s about this time of the year that I start to transition from eating stodgy hot winter comfort food, to fresh, viabrant light summer food.  It is also around this time of the year that many of us start to look at ourselves and think, “Yes, I really should do something about that layer of winter flab that seems to have appeared”.

Personally I find it hard sometimes to choose right from wrong, when it comes to food.  And being a sweet tooth and someone that LOVES to bake and create beautiful desserts, my choice is often the wrong one, which is quite clear at a glance.  You know what they say though, never trust a skinny cook 🙂  However the time has come.

In my quest to start eating a bit healthier, I am trying to find desserts that are still really tasty and aren’t laden with all the sugar that I normally, without question, pour into them.  Friends for dinner, what a great chance to exercise my new mantra.

I’d been looking around at other food blogs recently and came across a beautiful idea for grilled fruit on the Framed Table.  The writer proposed Grilled Peaches with Rosemary and Balsamic Vinegar, and my mouth started salivating at the thought.  As I pored through their beautiful photos I couldn’t help but imagine how these beauties were going to taste, the flavor of the peach enhancing with the gentle heat,  the natural sugars coming out of the fruit and caramelising, not to mention the subtle flavors seeping out of the grill ……. mmmmm … like the sound of it?

I thought I’d give it a go, you know, practice so I had it perfected come summertime (& BBQ season).  It was easy really. All you need is some peaches, rice bran or canola oil, balsamic vinegar and some fresh rosemary.

Cut and stone the peaches immediately before you plan to use them, otherwise they’ll go brown.  Brush the cut side with a little oil, and place some on the heated grill too.  Place the peach cut side down and cook on a medium-high heat for around 10 minutes ( you may want to adjust this according to how efficient your cooking surface is).  Once there are beautiful bar marks on the peach and they are slightly tender, turn over and do the other side for around 5 minutes.  Remove from the heat to a pan or plate and sprinkle with fresh rosemary and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar.

Now the writer suggested that these would be a great side dish for pork, and I can only imagine HOW GOOD that would taste, but in this instance we used ate them as a simple dessert, served with homemade sorbet and a dollop of vanilla bean ice-cream.

These were amazing,  I used white peaches from America, because that’s all I could find in stock.  But once our peach season starts, I’ll be gagging to try with some locally grown Golden Queens or Yellow Peaches, you can’t beat them in texture and flavor.   I can see myself grilling a lot of fruit this summer, especially when we go camping and are craving a cheeky dessert.  Strawberries and balsamic ….. just putting it out there.

Happy grilling

