I can’t believe I’m saying it, but it may have been too much chocolate … the first time

A few months ago I saw a picture on my sister’s Facebook page that inspired me to make some chocolate chip cookie coated Oreo biscuits.  They were insane!  The tasted pretty good, but they were HUGE, ridiculously huge, so huge in fact that you couldn’t actually fit the girth of the biscuits in your mouth (well I couldn’t, others in our household may have).  I hate to say it, but they were too much for me, I couldn’t even get through half of one.  What was I thinking?

After that epic fail,  I knew I had to try again, I just had to get it right.  When I was getting the groceries the other day I saw mini Oreos and thought this was my chance to redeem myself.

I thought I’d try the second batch with my new chocolate chip biscuit recipe, I had a feeling that they weren’t going to hold together as well as the first batch did, the dough is different and it spreads rather than rising, but that wouldn’t be a bad thing.  They weren’t going to look pretty but they were going to taste good.

So I set about making the biscuits, Mark II.  I made the dough, had to have a taste of course, good so far.  Chilled that and then got the mini Oreos out of the pantry.  The kids spotted them, so we lost a few there.  Finally got around to coating the Oreos in the cookie dough, bunged them in the oven and waited.

As I suspected they looked a little more like flying saucers than something that would grace the cover of Bon Appetite, but the final outcome was good.  1) they tasted incredible.  2)  you could get  enough in your mouth to take a bite of everything at the same time (very important).  I was happy.  I wonder if next time we could go super crazy and swap the chocolate chips out for M&M’s 🙂

So if at first you don’t succeed, try and try and try and try again.  That’s a good excuse to bake

Have a great day!

