Just a little something I whipped up this morning

Yesterday it was a dear friend’s birthday, so I thought I’d whip up a birthday cake to take into his work for morning tea, he also happens to work with my husband Tim.

After asking what flavor he would like, you can imagine my shock and amazement when he wanted chocolate (everyone wants chocolate).  So I threw together my normal recipe and wrapped it in plastic to retain it’s moisture overnight.

Today came the fun part, while organising the kids breakfast and sorting out Tim and Tom’s lunch for work and PlayCentre respectively, I made up a batch of chocolate buttercream to fill and crumb coat the cake.  Lucky I’m good at multitasking.

I wanted to make it a little bit Kitsch, Tim suggested I should have made a nice big pink cake with flowers, I did consider it for a moment 😉  I decided on red, with purple and black almost zebra like stripes.

The fondant honestly took no more than 15 minutes from start to finish to dress the cake.  This is the one thing I like about this type of design, it looks flashy, but takes a minimal amount of time to do, once you get the hang of it.  All I did was roll out the base colour, then cut small strips of other colours placed them on top and rolled them in, and then placed the fondant on top of the cake.  Easypeezy!  Of course I needed t top it off with a huge gaudy foil star fountain, for a bit of fun.

Most of the time I take my cake making and decorating quite seriously, but occasionally it’s good to have a little fun.

Happy belated birthday Brent, I hope you enjoyed your cake.

To everyone else, enjoy the rest of your day!

