Beautiful Slow Roasted Tomatoes

We went for a family trip up the coast in the weekend to pick up a Worm Farm that I had won in an auction, and stopped into one of the fruit and veggie markets on the way.  I managed to pick up some beautiful truss tomatoes, and thought what better to make use of these wonderful specimens than to slow roast them.

I don’t know about you, but I get a little sick of paying the earth for semi-dried tomatoes in the shops, and when you get them home they often don’t taste that great, you get to feeling a little disheartened.  Don’t get me wrong, I like them on anti-pasta plates or with cheese and in summer salads, but when you want something that still has some flesh to it and still taste like tomatoes, they just don’t cut the mustard.  These however hit the mark!

It’s probably the worst time of the year to be playing with tomatoes, at the moment they are at their peak in price, however when I saw these beauties I just couldn’t resist it.

Slow roasted tomatoes are the easiest thing in the world to make, you literally stuff the tomatoes in the oven, turn the oven off and walk away.  When you eat them they have that wonderful squishy centre still and the skins are delightfully tender, and like anything roasted in its skin, they taste amazing.  I really like Nigella’s take on slow-roasted tomatoes, she calls them Moon Blush Tomatoes as you roast them overnight.

They are perfect to have in salads (which is what I did), on toast, BLT’s, tossed through Pasta, with cheese on toast, bruschetta …. the options are endless.  Guaranteed, once you try them, you’ll love them.

So here is the biz, I used Nigella’s Moon Blush Tomatoes as a guide.

Ingredients

  • 500 g small vine tomatoes or cherry tomatoes cut in half across wise
  • 1/4 tsp sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • Olive Oil

Method

  1. Pre-heat oven to 220ºC
  2. Mix the salt, thyme and sugar, set aside
  3. Cut the tomatoes in half across wise and place in an oven proof dish or on a baking tray
  4. Sprinkle with the salt mixture
  5. Drizzle with Oil
  6. Place in the oven and turn the oven off immediately.  Leave for at least 6 hours, over night is best.

These will keep in an airtight container in the fridge for two weeks.  I tell you what, come summer when the prices of tomatoes come down, I’ll be buying them by the truckload so I can make sauce, soups, relish and these little beauties.  Hopefully I’ll have enough on my vines that I can have a constant supply of these on standby in my fridge!  YUM!

The salad that I made (above) was the perfect accompaniment to the creamy mushrooms on toast we had as a light dinner when I got home from squash last night, the tomatoes had jut the right amount of acidity to cut through the richness of the mushrooms and balance it all out.

 

LL

 

