Occasionally it’s all about assembly

I enjoy cooking and I love being able to make something from scratch, but as a busy Mum I just don’t have the luxury to do that all the time.   Sometimes I’m just in a mad hurry and I just need to throw something together that is both quick and easy and still tasty.

Last night was a perfect example.  I was out playing squash and picked up a friend on the way home for dinner.  I didn’t have time to cook as such, but I DID have time to assemble.  I had thrown some bread in the oven to bake before I went out, but I needed something that I coud prepare when I got home. Pasta is a great meal, to throw together, it cooks fast, it’s low stress and it tastes great, especially with garlic bread and feels well deserved after exercise.

Its fantastic how with minimal fuss you can chuck a few simple things in a pot and come up with tastes that marry together and make something beautiful.  Italian cooking all over really isn’t it?  Here is my creation.

Chicken Pesto Pasta

Chicken Pesto Pasta

Ingredients

  • 3/4 smoked chicken (substitute for cooked chicken from supermarket or cook up a few breast/thighs)
  • 150 ml Cream
  • 200 gm store-bought Pesto
  • 1/3 C white wine
  • 1 Packet of Pasta – I used bow-ties
  • 1/2 C Parmesan Cheese and extra for serving
  • a splash of olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Method

  1. Cook the pasta in plenty of salted water till al dente
  2. Pull apart the cooked chicken.
  3. Heat oil over a medium heat and add chicken.  Heat through until slightly warm.
  4. After a minute add the wine and cook off the alcohol – you want this to keep the chicken moist, so don’t let it evaporate.  Keep and eye on the heat
  5. Add the cream and pesto, make sure it doesn’t boil.  Once it’s steaming and the chicken is hot, it’s ready.
  6. Add the cooked pasta to the sauce and combine.  Stir through the parmesan
  7. Add salt and pepper to taste
  8. Serve and eat immediately.  Great with garlic bread.

Left overs (if any) can be eaten hot or cold.

Happy Assembling

LL

