The Wellington Pasty

I’m sorry if you got excited by the title, no I haven’t tried to fuse two dishes and make a pie out of a Beef Wellington, although I think I could probably do something with that.  No, instead in the spirit of using up leftovers in a creative way I thought I’d do my take on a Cornish Pasty, using the lamb and roast veggies that were sitting in the fridge.

Obviously the Cornish Pasty originated in Cornwall.  It is now considered the national dish of Cornwall, it has also been granted Protected Geographical Indication in Europe.  Traditionally the pasty (or pie) is made with short crust pastry and is filled with uncooked fillings sweet or savory (beef, potato, swede & carrots …).  In some places in Cornwall a pastry will have savory fillings at one end and sweet at the other; a complete meal.

If you are after traditional recipes for Cornish Pasties, try out the following links;

Here’s My take – The Wellington Pasty

First I made some short crust pastry using my recipe

Make pastry in advance and leave to rest in the fridge for at least 40 minutes

Here is where I cheated and chopped up my roasted lamb and veggies, and threw in some peas and seasoned with salt and pepper for good measure

I thought that the roast veggies and Lamb might be a bit dry on their own, and I wanted to keep a bit of moisture in there, so I made a gravy with the lamb bones and some onions, water and a splash of red wine.

Then I stirred this into the mixture and put aside.

I divided the pastry into five balls, two smaller ones for the kids and a large one for the hubby’s lunch tomorrow.

I rolled them out into circles, just slightly bigger than a bread and butter plate.  I’m not very good at rolling even circles, but that’s ok, I was going for rustic here.

Place filling in the middle of the pastry and then wet the edges of half of the circle.

Seal the edges, make sure there are no holes

Crimp/fold it as you would a steamed dumpling, or however you want.  In all honesty it probably doesn’t matter, if you can’t be bothered folding it you could leave it plain, fold the top over itself or press it along the edges with a fork.

Brush with a beaten egg and a tablespoon of water

Bake in the oven on 180ºC for 30 minutes, if they aren’t browning then increase the temperature a tad and cook until golden brown.

They seemed pretty good.  I made the pastry pretty short, but that’s how I like them anyway … a reasonably good result from this experiment really.  Next time I would quite like to try from scratch and use some venison, maybe some mushrooms ….. the options are endless.

