Guilty confessions of a Chocoholic

There’s nothing better than a good friend, except a good friend with CHOCOLATE   – Linda Grayson, “The Pickwick Papers”

Anyone who knows me well would also knows of my love affair with chocolate.  Mum would call me a chocoholic, my husband would call me an addict.  I think it would be fair to say that I have an unhealthy obsession with the lush, velvety seductress that calls herself chocolate.

Most days I would enjoy chocolate in one form or another, and we are so spoilt for choice.  I prefer dark chocolate most often, but White Chocolate will always have a place in my heart.  I have been known to profess on a number of occasions that any time of the day is a good time for my favorite snack, a glass of lush red wine and some sumptuous dark chocolate.

If I offer to take a dessert to someone’s house for dinner you can almost guarantee that it’s going to have chocolate on/in it in some way.  I am always on the hunt for interesting and unexpected ways to use chocolate.

It has to be said that chocolate is one of the most sexy and sensual foods to eat and cook with, and proves itself over and over how versatile it is.  It’s extraordinary flavor adds richness and depth to both sweet and savory dishes, from devilish cake to air-light mousse to exotic Mexican molé sauce.

I love cooking with chocolate, I do it often and I suppose cooking with it is the only thing that comes close to eating it.  I suspect that I’ll be posting regularly about chocolate, and since I believe that chocolate is the fifth food group, I think it deserves it’s own section.

Enjoy reading my guilty confessions of a chocoholic.

LL

