Souffle’

I have always wanted to make a soufflé, but for some reason it has always seemed slightly out of reach.  One of my close friends who is a major foodie would whip one up for us for dinner, generally cheese as a main,  and I would always admire it and wonder if I could ever aspire to be as clever , well Joe, tonight we had our neighbours over and I gave it a go, and it wasn’t that bad, could do with some fine tuning 🙂

The word soufflé is the past participle of the French verb souffler which means “to blow up” or more loosely “puff up”—an apt description of what happens to this combination of custard and egg whites.

Every soufflé is made from two basic components:

  1. a French crème pâtissière base/flavored cream sauce or purée
  2. egg whites beaten to a soft peak meringue

A soufflé can be either sweet or savoury, and with my “slight addiction” to chocolate (she says tongue in check), I decided it had to be sweet.  I used one of my idol’s recipe, Gordon Ramsay’s Chocolate Soufflé.

It didn’t turn out too bad and I followed the recipe to the T, the only addition was that it needed to be cooked a little longer so that the soufflé pulled away from the edges.

I found the following website which had a great range of tips and tricks on how to create the perfect soufflé  which is  great read, things to remember for next time.

All in all I think I have a bit more to learn, but for a first effort it tasted pretty good, might have to try it again and use some friends as guinea pigs again.  Next time I’m going for height!

Happy Baking

LL

 

