Making Burnt Butter Sauce

This week I had seen a lot of programs, recipes and posts using burnt butter sauce on pasta, I thought I’d give it a go. Beurre noisette or browned butter is part of French Cuisine and is commonly used for coating pasta, fish, eggs, mash and vegetables.  The butter is taken to a point where is it very browned but not burnt and it develops a beautiful hazelnut flavour, even though no hazelnuts are added.  Take it too far and burn the butter and you’ll end up with a very bitter sauce.  The key is to keep stirring.

While this isn’t an overly complicated technique, it’s not a hugely common sauce used in the average kiwi home, I have neither made it nor tasted it, which is why it interested me.

So as always I did a bit of research, had a look at a few recipes, had a look in the pantry and had a bit of a play.

Tonight I made Ricotta and Egg Yolk Pasta, and I thought that a burnt butter sauce with Oregano and Walnuts would go nicely with that.

Fresh Home-made Ravioli with Oregano and Walnut Burnt Butter Sauce

Yes, it was pretty easy, and yes it tasted nice, but BOY IT WAS RICH!!  Not sure if it was the combination of the ricotta, egg yolk and the burnt butter on top of that that made it so rich, or if maybe it needed something like a fresh salad with a vinaigrette to cut through the richness and balance it out.

I would make it again, maybe not take the sauce as far next time and maybe try a base pasta that isn’t so rush in itself.

