Anything but just an ordinary Pumpkin

Brrrrr!  The mornings have been colder, and we have had some fantastic frosts recently.  Mum came over for lunch the other day so I thought it would be a great day for Pumpkin Soup and Rosemary Focaccia, secretly I have been making a lot of pumpkin soup recently.

As I was making it, I had to smile, it reminded me of a conversation I had with a great Canadian friend a few weeks back, that resulted in me being delivered a beautiful Pumpkin Pie!  We were talking about the difference in how each of our countries treated Pumpkin.

I asked her if they used Pumpkin for anything other than sweet in Canada, and she confirmed that they didn’t generally use it for savory dishes, unless carving jack-o-lanterns counted.  Most Canadians don’t really know what Pumpkin without maple tastes like.  I commented that I had never tried Pumpkin Pie and she looked horrified and stated that we would have to remedy that.  She said it was really funny how when she first shifted to New Zealand that she thought we were all very gourmet and sophisticated, as everyone seemed to be serving Pumpkin Soup.   In Canada Pumpkin Soup is not very common and thought to be quite special.  Little did she know … it’s a kiwi staple.

A couple of weeks passed and she flicked me an email with a recipe for pumpkin pie, I thought I would definitely have to try it out to see what the fuss was about.  Low and behold the next day when I saw her, she had a freshly baked Pie in her hot little hands, all for me!!  Being a kiwi, I had to ask how to consume it.  Hot or cold?  With ice cream or on it’s own ?  I have to say, it was pretty darn good!

Isn’t it funny how we take things for granted?  Every culture and country are likely to use the same ingredients in a very different way and will create something, that to each probably seems anything but the norm.  To confirm my thinking I did a quick search on kiwi websites and apart from some Pumpkin Muffins, which may have had a little sugar in them, but were by no means sweet, most recipes I found were for savory pumpkin dishes.  Soups, BBQ grills, muffins, salads … the list goes on.

So, my challenge to you is;  Celebrate the pumpkin.  They are so cheap in the stores at the moment, try something different and step out of your comfort zone.  Maybe some of the following …

Pumpkin Cheesecake

Pumpkin Spiced Latte

Pumpkin Brownies

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin Fudge 

Pumpkin Pie-tini 

There are heaps more great ideas here

Just as an aside, check out this!!  http://www.giantpumpkin.com/

Happy creating.

LL

